Boy In The Shadows – Overcome

Wooohooo! Go bass player with that awesome line. This song feels like it would be right at home in an episode of The Munsters and I love it. In some ways I also feel like I’m hearing some Type O Negative. It’s probably that keyboard combined with the other musical styles. It’s got a great upbeat rhythm going on that’s got me boppin’ my head and tapping my feet as I write this. The vocals are really cool. There is an almost indifference to his vocal style here. I loved some of the echo effects.

All in all I gotta say this track was pretty good. I loved the kick back to Type O I got from it (RIP Peter Steel).  I would download this track and put it on a playlist with some old school Manson and Type O. I think just about anything with a slight bit of emo feel would be a good fit.


Who They Are:

Boy In The Shadows is a rock project from Sweden, that consists of Andreas Ericsson, who writes, performs, produces and records all the songs. The music can be described as melancholic rock and pop, inspired by bands like R.E.M., The Mission, H.I.M., Paradise Lost, Nightwish, Live, U2, Radiohead, David Bowie and Roxette.

Between 2006-2009, Andreas Ericsson released 30 songs on a Swedish digital label. All the songs were released under his own name. But that changed in 2012, when Andreas decided to release music without a lable and under a different name: Boy In The Shadows. In December that year, he recorded the song, Grey Morning, which was released digitally on January 9, 2013.

On February 13, 2013, the first Boy In The Shadows album, The Awakening, was released. The album was recorded between 2008 and 2013.

The second album, Horizons, was released on May 11, 2013, and recorded between 2012 and 2013. Apart from the vocals, all the instruments were recorded on an iPad 2.

Boy In The Shadows released his third album, A Day Before Tomorrow, on July 11, 2013. It was recorded between 2010 and 2013. Compare to the previous records, A Day Before Tomorrow was more electric guitar driven. The album contained the popular song, Not Enough.

In July, 2013, Andreas started writing new songs for the fourth Boy In The Shadows album. On October 23, Soul In Ruins, was released. It was an acoustic album with orchestral elements. The songs were recorded in GarageBand on an iPad 2 and an iMac.

On February 7, 2014, Boy In The Shadows released the single, Overcome.

On May 2, 2014, the EP, Not Worth Anything, was released.

The song, The Flow, was released on October 15, 2014. It’s the first single from the upcoming full length album.

On November 21, 2014, White Mountains, Black Roads, was released. It’s the second single from the upcoming full length album.

The Band is:
Andreas Ericsson




Where You Can Get It:

 spotify  itunes-logo[1] cdbaby-music-store-logo[1]


Leave a Reply

Translate »